Election of the Office Bearers for the Forum Vriddhi

PG Department of Psychology

Date: 25.07.2024

Day: Thursday

Time: 4.45 PM to 5.20 PM

Number of participants: 110 students

7 professors

Venue: Open Air Theater

The department of psychology had a meeting to share information about the forum election. Ms. Shameem spoke to the students about the many posts in the forum as well as the election timeline. Ms. Shilpa addressed the students, providing a full explanation of the forum election. She revealed the names of the positions: President, Vice President, Secretary, Joint Secretary, Treasurer, and Joint Treasury. She also outlined the election procedure, which will begin with the manifesto and continue with the voting, counting, and publication of results. Dr. Hannah John discussed the qualifications for running in the elections.

She explained that a student can run for a position if they have no standing arrears, that second-year students can run for President, Secretary, and Treasurer, and that first-year students can run for Vice President, Joint Secretary, and Joint Treasurer, and that students who ran last year can run again (but not those who were elected). The initial schedule was as follows

29.07.2024 (Monday) – Submission of Nomination for various posts, through mail to Dr. Kalyani Kenneth, Dr. Hannah John. Ms. Shilpa and Ms. Shameem.

30.07.20224 (Tuesday) - A day for withdrawal of nomination.

31.07.2024 (Wednesday) – Presentation of Manifesto, voting process, counting process and announcement of results.

The schedule was changed and the election day was pre-poned to Tuesday due to administrative work in the college.

The meeting ended with wishing luck to the students.

Date: 30.07.2024

Day: Tuesday

Time: 2.30 PM to 6PM

Number of participants: 109 students

8 professors

Venue: Open Air Theater

The election proceedings started at 2.30PM with all the students settling down for the manifesto. The candidates were asked to present their manifesto to the students, giving a chance to the students to choose their representatives who they want. Each candidate was given a time limit of 5 minutes to present their manifesto. The manifesto started with the candidates contesting for the post of forum president. The candidates were Ms. Lakshmi Bhuvaneshwari Preethi from IInd M.Sc Family Counseling, and Ms. Sana Ahmed from IInd M.Sc Counseling Psychology. It was followed by the candidates for the post of forum Vice President. The candidates were Mr. Mebin Joseph from Ist M.Sc family counseling, and Ms. Aathira and Mr. Palanivel Rajan from Ist M.Sc Counseling Psychology. This was followed by Ms. Kavviya Sai from IInd M.Sc Family Counseling, and Ms. Sachi N from IInd M.Sc Counseling Psychology contending for the post of forum Secretary. The candidates contesting for the post of Joint Secretary were; Ms. Amatulla from Ist M.Sc Counseling Psychology, and Ms. Anjali from Ist M.Sc family counseling presented their manifesto. This was continued for the post of Treasurer for which Ms. Kanishka Christina from IInd M.Sc Family Counseling, and Ms. Karthika from IInd M.Sc Counseling Psychology, contested. Finally, the manifesto was presented by candidates Ms. Thaila Valliammai from Ist M.Sc Counseling Psychology and Ms. Chesna Christina from Ist M.Sc Family Counseling for the post of Joint Treasurer. The presentation of the manifesto ended at 3.30 PM. A short break was given for 15 minutes after which the process of voting begun.





The voting process started at 3.45PM. It was a democratic process where each student signed the attendance sheet and were inked (marked using a permanent marker) on their index finger indicating that they have casted their vote. They were asked to get the ballot paper and write down the candidates' name they wanted to vote for. The names of the candidates were available on the board in the voting venue (Counseling Psychology Laboratory) and on the notice board outside the venue along with the picture of each candidate. The ballot paper was as follows:

President	Vice President	Secretary	Joint Secretary	Treasurer	Joint Treasurer

Once the students have casted their vote, they were asked to drop the ballot paper into the ballot box placed on a table upfront. Once the votes have been casted, the students were asked to leave the floor. All the students completed the voting process by 4.15PM.

Following this was the counting process for which each candidate had to choose a person who would represent them in the counting process to ensure fairness and truthfulness in the process. The counting process ended at 5.25PM. All the students were asked to assemble in the Open Air Theatre at 5.30PM.

The head of department Dr. Kalyani Kenneth gave a small speech of encouragement and proceeded to announce the winners. She announced the winners in the following order- Joint treasurer, Treasurer, Joint Secretary, Secretary, Vice President and President.



The Elected Forum Bearers for the academic year 2024-2025 are as follows

- 1. President Ms. Sana Ahmed
- 2. Vice President Mr. Mebin Joseph M
- 3. Secretary Ms. Sachi N
- 4. Joint Secretary Ms. Amatulla
- 5. Treasurer Ms. Karthika
- 6. Joint treasurer Ms. Chesna Christina.

The announcement of the results was followed by a small speech by all the winners and photographs with the faculty.



The entire process was supervised by Ms. Shameem, Assistant Professor, Counseling Psychology and Ms. Shilpa, Assistant Professor, Family Counseling along with the student volunteers.