News & Events

Belight - Student Consumer Club

<< Back
Venue :
Conference Hall
Date :

The inauguration of the club for the academic year was held on 7th March 2017 at 4.45p.m. in the Conference Hall, MSSW with an audience strength of 35 students. The Chief Guest of the
function was Dr. Justice S. TamilVanan, the President, State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission and along with him, Dr. A.M. Swaminathan, IAS (Retd.), President, S
(SSER), Dr. S. Raja Samuel, Principal, MSSW and Dr. R. Subashini, Dean, MSSW was present.

The programme started with the Tamil Thai Valzthu by the college choir followed by Ms.Shruthi, I MA(HRM) welcomed the gathering followed by Ms.Selva Vinitha, I MA(DM) who highlighted about BELIGHT – its evolution, objectives and tentative activities for the year. The main aim of the club was to instill consciousness and commitment among its members regarding consumer rights, responsibilities, legislations and also responsible consumer behaviour. For this, the club has intended to organize programmes like guest lectures, competitions for students, attending consumer court proceedings and also to discuss about consumer grievances and its solutions.  Dr. A. M. Swaminathan addressed the gathering by welcoming the dignitaries and also shared his vision for the club. He also congratulated the faculty coordinator, Dr. Amirtha Mary, Assistant Professor, MA
(DM) department for her efforts in the initiation of the club. The need and significance of the club was highlighted in his speech.  Dr. S. Raja Samuel felicitated the gathering by congratulating the team for its efforts in
organizing the programme. He expressed his happiness for the club as it is being guided by Dr. A. M. Swaminathan who had great experiences in this Civil Supplies Department. He also wished success for the club.
The chief guest, Dr. Justice S. TamilVanan, briefed about the importance of the student club in college. He also shared his experiences as being the President of the Consumer Court and his landmark judgements were
inspiring and were enlightening for the audience. The guest was honoured by Dr .A.M. Swaminathan by a floral bouquet and a memento. Then, newly volunteered office bearers Ms. Shanmuga Priya, I MA(DM), Ms. Shruthi, I MA(HRM) and Mr.Jagatheesan, II BSC (Psychology) were sworn in their respective positions as President Secretary and Treasurer by Dr. R. Subashini and wished them success in their endeavours.
The programme ended with the Vote of thanks by Ms. Pavithra, II BSC (Psychology) followed by the National Anthem

Staff Login

Please enter your user name and password to login